Holy Week. Preparation.

I offer something simple today because I have been absolutely amazed and refreshed and renewed and recharged by employing the tools that are given to us in the Spirit. Today I am hungry for more of God. I am hungry for more of God’s presence in my marriage, the lives of my children, and the outreach into my community.

But I realize that as clever and creative as I might possibly be on my best day… God has already given us everything that we need to live a vibrant and transformed life. He holds them out in His nail pierced hands and says ” You are worth it. I have made a way for you. You are not to fumble around like you don’t have any idea what it means to be loved, to be free, to be healed, to be provided for, to live purposefully.   And before you think that I am talking about material wealth and provision, please know that I see those as by products, not the objects of our attention and desire. I am simply offering to you …LIFE”.

Does the great news about Jesus death, resurrection and resurrected life have any affect on me? Does it live out through my actions as a mother/scholar/author/wife/church leader/daughter/neighbor? Do I live as if I know the end of my story… which is to live now and forever with the God who loves me and made me with a purpose?

Praying that every one of us will see ourselves as part of the unending story of God’s great love. How He loves us.

Ephesians 6:10-20 the Message

A Fight to the Finish

10-12And that about wraps it up. God is strong, and he wants you strong. So take everything the Master has set out for you, well-made weapons of the best materials. And put them to use so you will be able to stand up to everything the Devil throws your way. This is no afternoon athletic contest that we’ll walk away from and forget about in a couple of hours. This is for keeps, a life-or-death fight to the finish against the Devil and all his angels. 13-18Be prepared. You’re up against far more than you can handle on your own. Take all the help you can get, every weapon God has issued, so that when it’s all over but the shouting you’ll still be on your feet. Truth, righteousness, peace, faith, and salvation are more than words. Learn how to apply them. You’ll need them throughout your life. God’s Word is an indispensable weapon. In the same way, prayer is essential in this ongoing warfare. Pray hard and long. Pray for your brothers and sisters. Keep your eyes open. Keep each other’s spirits up so that no one falls behind or drops out.

19-20And don’t forget to pray for me. Pray that I’ll know what to say and have the courage to say it at the right time, telling the mystery to one and all, the Message that I, jailbird preacher that I am, am responsible for getting out.

Leave a Reply

