a blurry kind of life

A blurry kind of life
It is a hard pill to swallow when I consider the myriad ways I am lulled to numbness by my pursuit of material things. I am that girl who has grown up and swallowed the pill of trend, pursued individualist ambitions, and created a homogenous community.

So here I sit and listen to the song of justice being sung and I must admit I am extremely challenged. I am left with many questions:
How do I mourn seriously for the world passing by?
How do I, a people pleaser, become willing to know criticism for taking a position that might make other people feel uncomfortable or not want to be in my community?
Will I continue to ignore the consequences of my shopping?
How have I become detached from the global Kingdom of God?
How can I become a leader who is not marked by the love of power and prestige and reputation but by the power of love and insignificance?

Because of these questions (and many others) it is not difficult for me to see the need for a greater transfusion of justice systemically, not just personally. Ezekiel gives this warning 2600 years ago:

Ezekial 22:26-29 “‘Your priests violated my law and desecrated my holy things. They can’t tell the difference between sacred and secular. They tell people there’s no difference between right and wrong. They’re contemptuous of my holy Sabbaths, profaning me by trying to pull me down to their level. Your politicians are like wolves prowling and killing and rapaciously taking whatever they want. Your preachers cover up for the politicians by pretending to have received visions and special revelations. They say, “This is what God, the Master, says…” when God hasn’t said so much as one word. Extortion is rife, robbery is epidemic, the poor and needy are abused, outsiders are kicked around at will, with no access to justice.’ (The Message).

If the global systems in our world make it easier for us to choose a song other than justice, how can we simultaneously move in authentic formation toward systemic right-relationships with others? It begins at the beginning; with Jesus. DeBorst exhorts us to follow Jesus in “penetrating the numbness” in order to “make visible the odd normalities that have become business as usual” (RPD, Song of Justice). Oppose oppressive politics, call for the economics of a shared community, free people from oppressive relationships, speak out a deep yearning for things to be right! If Jesus cause was to uphold the week, ours simply will be to uphold the week. If even death could not stop Jesus from reconciling relationships, then there is no limit to the ways Jesus calls us to reconcile relationships. With all of this influence and power and wealth and education in our nation, there is limitless potential for those of us willing to take this power and utilize it as the hands, feet, head, and heart of Jesus. Even if my song is an “awkward inarticulate cry that blends with other throughout the ages” let it “well up from a profound dissatisfaction that beseeches CHOOSE LIFE” (RPD, Heart of Darkness).

Leave a Reply

